Bicentennial Celebration 2018


The Bicentennial Celebration of the Illinois Judiciary was held on October 9, 2018 at the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum in Springfield. More than 200 people attended the black-tie affair, with speeches from Chief Justice Lloyd Karmeier, emcee Kirk Dillard, and keynote speaker Scott Turow. A video highlighted the successes of the Commission and particularly its History on Trial series. The Commission presented its sixth Hon. George N. Leighton Award to the Theatre School at DePaul University for its efforts in making the workings of the legal profession more accessible to the public by producing the History on Trial series. Dean John Culbert accepted the award on behalf of the Theatre School. The date October 9 was specifically chosen because that was the date in 1818 when the Illinois General Assembly appointed the first four members of the Illinois Supreme Court. Full video

View Photos