The Honorable George N. Leighton Justice Award - November 18, 2013


The Illinois Supreme Court Historic Preservation Commission honored Thomas P. Sullivan, a partner at the Chicago firm of Jenner & Block, as the 20 13 recipient of the George N. Leighton Justice Award at a ceremony held on Monday, November 18 on the I8th Floor of the Michael A. Bilandic Building, 160 N. LaSalle Street, Chicago. The award recognizes one who has given exceptional service to the legal community and exhibits the qualities that personified Judge Leighton's character, service and legal career. For the past four years, the Historic Preservation Commission has given the Leighton Award with Judge Leighton receiving the inaugural award in 2009. In 2010, retired Illinois Supreme Court Justice Benjamin K. Miller, who is currently of counsel at Jenner & Block, received the award. In 2011, retired U.S. Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens was the recipient of the award.